Nobody Told Me

Recently, I’ve found myself reflecting on the same thing over and over again:

‘If someone had told me…’

This is not to cast blame but in a sense of wonder at how times, and I, have changed. Wonder that life holds such amazing surprises, unexpected twists and undreamt of paths, and that I am now able to enjoy them.

If someone had told me ten years ago that I wouldn’t get married to Jaye, I wouldn’t live in England in domesticated bliss and I wouldn’t be a mad cat woman, I would never have believed them.

If someone had told me three years ago that on a future anniversary of the day I got my heart well and truly broken I would be relaxing on a tropical beach having snorkeled all morning from my rented boat, I would have laughed (or more probably sobbed) in their face.

If someone had told me a year ago today (Feb. 2nd) that I’d be sitting in the British Embassy in Yangon waiting to renew my passport because I didn’t have enough pages left to continue my travels, I would first have asked ‘Where?’ then said ‘We’ll see.’

I sometimes wonder where I’ll be and what I’ll be doing in the years ahead as my life continues to be the most amazing journey I have ever made, but actually, it doesn’t really matter. As long as I continue to take the wonderful opportunities that are presented to me and live a useful life, I don’t mind where I am or what I’m doing, as long as I am happy.

And I’m glad I found that out for myself; that nobody told me.

Leave a Reply

